The Long Road

 

007_10

Dear Reader,

Where did the summer and fall go? I’m so sorry I haven’t written sooner! First it was the harvesting season, then the winter preparation, and then my husband had his accident… but I will tell about that later in this letter.

eb4878ae-6299-4303-ae56-cf8c8a056056

The garden turned out well this year. The carrots rotted when they hit the sod that had been tilled under in the spring, and the peppers that I planted from pots didn’t like being in the big garden with all the wind; but other then that everything seemed pretty happy πŸ™‚ 009Especially the pumpkins… I have been bitten by the pumpkin bug! I want to plant some more πŸ™‚Β I have saved the seeds from my pie and jack-o-lantern pumpkins and a couple different varieties I got my hands on earlier this fall. I was also able to harvest zinnia, marigold, and milkweed seeds for next year πŸ™‚ Fun!

024

Mr. Shy

The Chickens are huge now. They started laying eggs in October. We are getting about a dozen a day now πŸ™‚ We’ve been having issues with our one rooster, Mr. Ducky. He will probably be soup when my husband is up and around again. Our other rooster Mr. Shy is much more of a gentleman.

 

So we had a good late summer and fall after our mishaps earlier in the year. Until November…

My husband wants to expand our poultry to turkeys and maybe a breed of quail. He got a turkey hut and also found a corn silo that would be a great enclosure for keeping quail in.

IMG_0214As we were taking the roof off the silo it suddenly inverted and collapsed. The bottom edge of the roof pushed out as the thing went down and shoved my husband off the ladder. It was a very long way to fall. I was at the bottom of the ladder. I had enough time to think, ” oh no! Got to do something!!!” and it was too late. He was on the ground. It was a pretty terrifying moment. I am grateful to the Lord because he could have been killed outright or paralyzed. He came down full-force on his left heel and shattered it.

The ambulance came, and took us to the hospital emergency where we found that this was going to be a very long road of recovery in front of us. It is one of the most difficult bones to mend. There was an orthopedic surgeon attending someone else with a foot injury so he stepped in to talk to Jason. He ended up taking Jason on as a patient and ultimately referring him to a trauma surgeon in his office. My husband had surgery about a week after the accident. (We were really glad to be able to get it done before the Thanksgiving holiday!)

002

Waiting for surgery

They had to let the swelling go down. He was in surgery about 3 hours. The surgeon told me afterward he had put his foot back together the best he could using a variety of screws, plates, and a donated bone graft. He said the foot would develop arthritis. The joint as well. He may require further surgery later, but he hoped this fix would last him for a while. So after he woke up they sent him home… with the wrong pain dosage… as in, half of what they usually prescribe for a surgery like this. It was an agonizing night. My husband has had surgery for a kidney stone and he said the pain rivaled that, so I know it was bad. So he has been on 2 weeks bed rest since surgery.

031His post-op appointment is today. Hopefully, after today he can be more mobile with a scooter. He has been off work for the last 3 weeks with no pay, and the real kicker is we don’t have health insurance 😦 We’ve been working with the hospital on financial aid options, but we aren’t very hopeful we’ll qualify for anything… we seem to fall through all the cracks in the system. After wrestling with this decision for a week or so now, we’ve decided to set up a GoFundMe account for anyone who feels inclined to donate toward helping us pay some of our medical bills… we would be using it just for our medical bills…Β (We’ve been informed that so far they are about $30,000) We’re just trying to get the word out about it… if you know anyone who might be interested in contributing please share this with them. We’d appreciate it so much.

GoFundMe Link: https://www.gofundme.com/alvordmedicalbills

So… that has been our December so far. I’m so grateful that my husband is still with me! I’m so thankful he wasn’t hurt worse than he was!

 

I’ve been learning a lot of new skills around the farm since I am taking care of things now. Cleaning up chicken coops, feeding chickens, figuring out barn breaker boxes, figuring out how to put oil in my car. We’ve had a lot of help with meals and jobs around the house from family and friends which has been really wonderful as well.

So even though it has been kind of a scary month here on the farm, I have a lot to be thankful for this Christmas Season!018

I will write again soon! (Really, this time I will πŸ™‚ )

Until then, have a wonderful week!

Jodi Alvord

Ps. For faster updates on our farm life you can find us on facebook at: https://www.facebook.com/Turkey-Foot-FarmThe-Old-Farmhouse-1495593607246914/

3 thoughts on “The Long Road

  1. Pingback: Change in the Air | The Farm Week in Review

Leave a Reply

